Google+ Allows Users to Disable and Lock Comments Before Sharing Posts

By Erin Harrison October 05, 2011

Here’s something that Facebook might want to emulate: a feature unique to Google+ that allows users to disable comments and “lock down” posts from sharing – before you actually share.

Mashable reported that previously with Google+, users were only able to disable and lock down after a post was shared.

“Now, you can do it before you share, which makes much more sense; after all, if you don't want anyone to comment on or share your post, you probably want it that way from the start,” the report said. In order to choose the lock and disable options, you hover over the share box of an item you want to share.

In a demo video, a Google+ Sharing engineer explains, “We’ve heard from many of you that you would like these disable-unlock before you share, not after. So today I’m happy to say we’re doing exactly that.”

In posting photos, for example, Google+ explains, “If you don’t want viewers to download your photos, click the gear icon on the top right corner of this screen, go to Google+ Settings and uncheck the ‘Allow viewers to download my photos’ checkbox.”

Many users are praising the distinctively Google+ feature, calling for Facebook to “pay attention.”

Mashable reader Jay Whiting commented, “Definitely an improvement on the old system. Small, helpful change (are you paying attention Facebook?)”

But another reader criticized Google+ for its exclusivity that leaves some users left “in the cold” and the company’s lack of communication about its social network.

“ianpiepenbrock” wrote, “Great, all these privacy features. But I’d rather see Google set their priorities straight. How is it possible that Google+ still isn’t available for Google Apps users? The most dedicated and loyal Google users are left in the cold here. For me this is really unbelievable. Yes I also have a Gmail-address as secondary e-mail, but if you want to fully experience the true value of G+, which is integration, it’s totally useless. It has to be under your primary Google-account. The worst part is Google’s lack of communication about this matter.”


Erin Harrison is Executive Editor, Strategic Initiatives, for TMC, where she oversees the company's strategic editorial initiatives, including the launch of several new print and online initiatives. She plays an active role in the print publications and TechZone360, covering IP communications, information technology and other related topics. To read more of Erin's articles, please visit her columnist page.

Edited by Rich Steeves

Executive Editor, Strategic Initiatives

SHARE THIS ARTICLE
Related Articles

Consumer Privacy in the Digital Era: Three Trends to Watch

By: Special Guest    1/18/2018

Digital advertising has exploded in recent years, with the latest eMarketer data forecasting $83 billion in revenue this year and continued growth on …

Read More

CES 2018: Terabit Fiber - Closer Than We Think

By: Doug Mohney    1/17/2018

One of the biggest challenges for 5G and last mile 10 Gig deployments is not raw data speeds, but middle mile and core networks. The wireless industry…

Read More

10 Benefits of Drone-Based Asset Inspections

By: Frank Segarra    1/15/2018

Although a new and emerging technology, (which is still evolving), in early 2018, most companies are not aware of the possible benefits they can achie…

Read More

VR Could Change Entertainment Forever

By: Special Guest    1/11/2018

VR could change everything from how we play video games to how we interact with our friends and family. VR has the power to change how we consume all …

Read More

Making Connections - The Value of Data Correlation

By: Special Guest    1/5/2018

The app economy is upon us, and businesses of all stripes are moving to address it. In this age of digital transformation, businesses rely on applicat…

Read More